“A Faith Builder”

Reading through the Old Testament – especially Kings and Chronicles – acquainted me with the character of God very personally, very gradually, like flower petals opening. My mother had always told me, “the Old Testament is a faith builder,” and she was right.

The further I read, the more God reinforced the truth in me of how pleasing Him reaps blessing, and opposing His goodness can only bring curses on any life. After all, we reap what we sow.

Seeing the various righteous kings of Israel “do good in the sight of God” despite powerful opposition, and standing in awe as Jehovah God came to their rescue in the face of trouble and delivered them from all of their enemies DEFINITELY built my faith.  As if for the first time, my spirit truly comprehended the unstoppable faithfulness of God.

Right along with this, Holy Spirit began appropriating some fundamental truths to my spirit.  It’s one thing to “hear” the truth and quite another to “know” it – to have it grab hold of your being and take possession of your mindsets and belief systems. Being impregnated with God’s revelatory goodness is a life-changing experience, and that’s what began happening to my very foundations the more time I spent with God.

One of the most critical of seeds planted within me was the humbling truth that “doing good” doesn’t mean applying my own definitions or understanding to what seems noble and righteous; rather, it means seeking God out for HIS definitions in all things.

 “So Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God.” (Luke 18:19)

“Trust in the Lord with all of your heart, and lean not to your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5)

It also means asking God’s Holy Spirit to enable me to apply His definitions to my daily living.  It’s ALL about Him and nothing about me.  For even as John the Baptist uttered truthfully by God’s power –

“He must increase, but I must decrease.” (John 3:30)

So is the pattern of God-defined success and prosperity in our lives.  I can’t “figure out” anything, my friends.  Neither can you.  When we try to figure, the cause is lost before it’s begun!  A fundamental principle and building block to our entire relationship with God is that if we ever think we can do anything more than “trust and obey” the Lord (in terms of the work needing to be done in our lives), our ships will run aground leaving us totally ineffective.  Christ Himself modeled this truth as our eternal Example while He walked the earth . . .

“… the words that I speak unto you I speak not of Myself: but the Father Who dwells in Me, He does the works.” (John 14:10)

HIS PART is the work itself, my part is trusting, believing, and obeying.  What a freeing revelation!  Yes, it seems simple – even a no-brainer – to realize that God is in total control and without Him we can do nothing; but it is the nature of the flesh to disobey and try to take the reins, my friends – and therein is the rub!  Therein is what makes the revelation that there is no power apart from GOD such an essential building block and cornerstone to our basic fellowship and righteous relationship with Him.  Hey, tell the truth now. . . how many times has God had to ask you to give control of your life and life’s situations back to Him?  Yep… exactly… enough said!

So in the months following my mother’s departure, Abba called forth into one place the foundation stones He’d created in me through her tender teaching and (seemingly) infinite patience, and began in earnest the assembling of my blessed and destined “house” in Him.

I was hungrier than ever, my faith in the future was soaring, and I could feel the Lord’s excitement and delight at finally having me all to Himself.

Amen.

Pastor Sharon

Leave a Reply (No links, please! Links will be deleted.)

